Knowledge is power: understanding our suffering empowers us to free ourselves from it. In the second session (sutras 2:3–2:9) of the Practice of the Yoga Sutra Book Club, Ishan Tigunait delves into the five fundamental afflictions (kleshas) that stand between us and true fulfillment. Learn what they are and what you can do to rise above them.

To prepare for the next session, please read sutras 2:10–2:17 in Pandit Tigunait’s The Practice of the Yoga Sutra: Sadhana Pada.

Further Reading

The Practice of the Yoga Sutra: Sadhana Pada

by Pandit Rajmani Tigunait, PhD

In the second book in his series of commentaries on the Yoga Sutra, Pandit Rajmani Tigunait, PhD elaborates on Patanjali’s succinct and straightforward plan to transcend pain and embrace lasting happiness. He points out the obstacles, both known and unknown, that prevent us from creating and living the life we dream of, and assures us that we are destined to discover our pure being and experience lasting joy.

More in this Series

Practice of the Yoga Sutra Book Club