In the fifth session (sutras 2:28–2:34) of the Practice of the Yoga Sutra Book Club, Ishan Tigunait introduces the eight limbs of yoga—the concrete steps to cultivating a peaceful flow of awareness. He then delves into a detailed discussion of the first two limbs: the yamas (restraints) and the niyamas (observances). Begin your exploration of the living body of practice that purifies and illuminates your inner and outer worlds.

To prepare for the next session, please read sutras 2:35–2:45 in Pandit Tigunait’s The Practice of the Yoga Sutra: Sadhana Pada.

Further Reading

The Practice of the Yoga Sutra: Sadhana Pada

by Pandit Rajmani Tigunait, PhD

In the second book in his series of commentaries on the Yoga Sutra, Pandit Rajmani Tigunait, PhD elaborates on Patanjali’s succinct and straightforward plan to transcend pain and embrace lasting happiness. He points out the obstacles, both known and unknown, that prevent us from creating and living the life we dream of, and assures us that we are destined to discover our pure being and experience lasting joy.

More in this Series

Practice of the Yoga Sutra Book Club